Labor-free Weekend

It’s ironic that a holiday created to celebrate the hard work that built the U.S. is now synonymous with beaches, cocktails and cookouts…basically, not working. In the modern tradition of Labor Day weekend, my pups got down to no-business, goofing off at their grandparents’, swimming in the surf, relaxing at spas and, in the case of my two boarding clients, having staycation adventures with me. I would say these guys have all won the doggie lottery, as far as charmed lives go.

 

Nico looked more like an otter than a Shih-Tzu as he floated next to mom in his grandma’s pool.

  

…and of course his Boston Terrier (emphasis on the Terrier) brothers, Murphy and Riley, preferred to roughhouse. Show these boys a tennis ball, and they won’t stop tugging on it until someone loses a tooth (usually Riley). It’s ok, though, they’d gladly live on a soup diet in exchange for this fun.


 

  
Scout had an amazing time at the beach with her family. This was her first time swimming in the ocean!

Lola lounged by an amazing pool in Miami.

Lola lounged by an idyllic pool in Miami.

Nola and I picked out some fun treats and toys at PetCo in Union Square on Saturday.

Nola and I picked out some fun treats and toys at PetCo in Union Square on Saturday.

Nola and Lionel spent the weekend with me, and we traversed the city. This was their best impression of dog statues. I don't know what they were looking at, but it had their attention!

Nola and Lionel spent the weekend with me, and we traversed the city. This was their best impression of dog statues. I don’t know what they were looking at, but it had their attention!

My husband Jason and I took the pups to a biannual food festival near Madison Square Park, aptly called Madison Square Eats. Don’t worry, they got dog treats from me, not pork belly, after waiting patiently for him to finish. Only fair, after he semi-teased them (he maintained he was simply describing his food to them…yeah, ok). 

Leave a Reply

